Mountain West Conference announces formation into two divisions

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 1/22/2013 12:21 pm
RENO, Nev. (KRNV & -- The Mountain West Conference announces realignment into two divisions on their Twitter account.

Their tweets say the divisions will be called "Mountain" and "West."

The Mountain division will include Air Force Athletics, Boise State, CSU, University of New Mexico, Utah State, and University of Wyoming.

The West division will include University of Hawaii, Fresno State, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State, and University of Las Vegas.

Mountain West's Twitter says each football team will play five divisional games and three cross-divisional contests annually. The Inaugural Football Championship Game will be played on Sat., Dec. 7, 2013 at the home stadium of highest ranked BCS team.

Mountain West reports there will not be divisions for Mountain West men’s and women’s basketball. The teams will play an 18-game Conference schedule that will include home and home games with eight opponents and single-play games against a rotation of two remaining teams in the Conference.

The group also discussed various format options for the postseason men’s and women’s basketball championships and scheduling formats for 2013 and beyond in all other sports. The Olympic sports scheduling formats are currently being reviewed by the respective coaches groups, who will then provide recommendations via the Mountain West governance structure.

0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.