Nevada fire restrictions take effect earlier than usual

Reported by: Madison Corney
Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/29/2014 10:28 pm

CARSON CITY, Nev. ( & KRNV) -- As Nevada enters its third consecutive year of a drought, fire restrictions for western Nevada will take effect on May 30, a month earlier than usual.

Parts of western Nevada are in an extreme drought and nearly 40 percent of the contiguous U.S. ranks from moderate to exceptional drought. Pete Anderson with the Nevada Division of Forestry said his biggest concerns are safety and education. "We get a lot of lightning in this part of the country we can’t do a lot about it, but we certainly can reduce the amount of human-caused fires."

Anderson said there have already been upwards of eight human caused fires in the area in 2014, including the Hunter Falls fire.

Fire Restrictions Prohibit:

  • Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire (using wood, charcoal or any other material), campfire, or stove fire except a portable stove using gas or pressurized liquid fuel, outside of a developed fee campground or picnic area (except by permit).

  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or at a developed campground or picnic area.

  • Welding, or operating an acetylene torch with open flames, except by permit.

  • Using or causing to be used, any explosive, except by permit.

  • Possession or use of fireworks (always prohibited), or any other incendiary device.

  • Use of tracer rounds, steel-core ammunition or exploding targets including Binary Explosive Targets while recreational shooting.

  • Open burning (e.g. weeds, brush and yard debris).

Citizens should remember that charcoal grills cannot be used during fire restrictions. Charcoal burns longer and hotter than wood and may appear to be cold; however, embers can linger for hours. Winds can spread the embers from charcoal and campfires into vegetation, igniting a wildfire. Propane or white gas stoves, however, are acceptable for use during fire restrictions.

If you are caught breaking the rules you could be fined up to $10,000, imprisonment for not more than 6 months, or both.

For more information or clarification on the restrictions, visit here.

Report fires to the Interagency Dispatch Center in Minden at 775-883-5995.

0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.