New California laws boost minimum-wage and mandate some worker breaks in hot weather

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 12/29/2013 4:54 pm

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) — The Democrats who control the California Legislature put a priority in 2013 on helping workers, as illustrated by many of the laws taking effect in the new year.

In lawmakers' most far-reaching move, minimum-wage earners will be paid $9 an hour starting July 1. It will be the first of two dollar-an-hour boosts that will push the base wage to $10 by 2016, giving California one of the nation's highest rates.

In addition, domestic workers now must be paid time-and-a-half if they work more than nine hours in a day or more than 45 hours in a week. Workers in industries such as agriculture and landscaping must get rest breaks during hot weather.

Gov. Jerry Brown signed 805 bills into law in 2013, while vetoing 96.


©2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

Speed - 12/29/2013 9:12 PM
0 Votes
Ironic that the more BROKE California gets,the MORE they manage to spend to get the LEAST benefit. They should leave the "Management"(MISmanagement?) of the State to someone who knows how to do it properly.

retired USA - 12/29/2013 8:42 PM
0 Votes
Get ready to pay more for your Big Mac in California, good old Democrats.

What's On

All content © Copyright 2013 Intermountain West Communications Company. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.