Carter, Irvin selected as Pro Bowl captains

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 7/30/2014 9:46 am

New York, NY ( - Hall of Fame wide receivers Cris Carter and Michael Irvin have been selected as alumni captains for the 2015 Pro Bowl.

Deion Sanders and Jerry Rice served as captains for last year's All-Star Game under the revised format, in which players are placed into a pool and drafted into two teams.

Both Carter and Irvin will also be assisted in the selection process by two active player captains and one fantasy football champion.

"Being voted to the Pro Bowl was always a tremendous honor for me," said Carter, now an NFL studio analyst for ESPN. "Last year, players really seemed to be excited about the new rules and the Pro Bowl draft format. I'm excited to be a part of it this year."

Players who earn a Pro Bowl berth will once again be selected without regard to conference. Last year, Team Rice posted a 22-21 win over Team Sanders.

"I can't wait to see which players get the Pro Bowl nod this season," said Irvin, currently an NFL analyst for the NFL Network. "I'm already thinking about how to build my team."

This season's Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, Jan. 25 in Glendale, Arizona, a week before the Super Bowl at the same site -- University of Phoenix Stadium.


What's On

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.