Duke wins back-to-back NCAA lax titles

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/26/2014 6:24 pm

Baltimore, MD (SportsNetwork.com) - Senior Jordan Wolf had two goals and four assists and Duke captured its second straight NCAA men's lacrosse title -- and third in five years -- with an 11-9 win over Notre Dame on Monday.

Deemer Class, Myles Jones and Kyle Keenan also had two goals each and the Blue Devils held off a furious comeback from the Irish, who rallied from deficits of 6-1 and 8-2 to make it a one-goal game twice down the stretch.

Sergio Perkovic scored the last of his five goals for Notre Dame on a rifled shot that beat Duke goalie Luke Aaron up high with 49 seconds left, drawing the Irish within 10-9.

But Brendan Fowler cleanly won a faceoff against Liam O'Connor to give Duke possession and Wolf scored into an empty net after a timeout to seal it with 23 seconds remaining.

Duke beat Syracuse last year and topped Notre Dame in 2010 in the Irish's only other trip to the final. The Blue Devils lost the title game to Johns Hopkins in 2005 and 2007.

Aaron had nine saves for Duke and Conor Kelly stopped 12 shots for Notre Dame.

Duke became the first men's lacrosse team since Syracuse in 2008-09 to capture consecutive Division I titles.


What's On

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.