Reno City Council to undergo major turnover

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 11/12/2012 6:51 am

RENO, Nev. (AP) — The Reno City Council will undergo a major makeover next week when four new members are sworn into office.

Jenny Brekhus, Oscar Delgado, Neoma Jardon and Hillary Schieve will assume office on Wednesday after winning Tuesday's election.

They'll join Mayor Bob Cashell and council members Dwight Dortch and Sharon Zadra, who are in the middle of their terms.

Councilman Dan Gustin didn't run for re-election, while Dave Aiazzi, Pierre Hascheff and Jessica Sferrazza were forced out of office by term limits.

Political analysts say the new council will face a variety of major issues as Reno was forced to lay off about a third of its workforce to balance the city's budget.

Republican Washoe County Commissioners-elect Marsha Berkbigler and Vaughn Hartung will be sworn into their new seats in January.


©2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.