Stanford's Wilson wins NCAA Individual title

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/26/2014 8:46 pm

Hutchinson, KS ( - Cameron Wilson birdied the third playoff hole on Monday to win the NCAA Individual Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club.

Wilson missed a short par putt on the final hole of regulation to fall into the playoff. He closed with an even-par 70 to finish at 6-under-par 204. Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans posted a 2-under 68 in the final round to match Wilson's total.

The pair played the 18th for the first extra hole. After Schniederjans missed a birdie try, Wilson's birdie effort also stayed above ground and they moved to the 10th for the second extra hole.

Both found the putting surface at the par-3, but Schniederjans was much closer. Wilson's birdie putt from just over 20 feet missed and he tapped in for par. Schniederjans birdie try from inside 10 feet broke across the hole and he missed low. After he tapped in for par, the pair moved to 17.

At the par-5, both players missed the fairway off the tee. Schniederjans hacked out of a tough lie down the fairway, while Wilson's second came up well short from the rough.

Schniederjans played his third to about 20 feet before Wilson hit a nice chip to about eight feet. Schniederjans failed to convert and tapped in for par. Wilson did not miss, and his birdie made him Stanford's first Individual champion since Tiger Woods.

Stanford's David Boote fired a 5-under 65 to gain a share of third place at 5- under-par 205. He was joined there Houston's James Ross (66) and Alabama's Robby Shelton (68).

Seth Reeves of Georgia Tech and Benjamin Taylor of LSU carded 2-under 68s in the final round. They were joined in sixth place at minus-4 by Virginia's Denny McCarthy (70).

Stanford's Patrick Rodgers, the top-ranked amateur in the world, stumbled to a 3-over 73 and fell from second place into a share of 15th.

The individual portion was cut to three rounds as bad weather earlier in the tournament pushed play back.

Eight schools -- Stanford, defending champion Alabama, LSU, Oklahoma State, Georgia Tech, UCLA, SMU and Illinois -- will now play match play to determine the team champion. The quarterfinals and semifinals will take place on Tuesday, while the final matches are slated for Wednesday.


What's On

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications Company. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.