Tartt, Goodwin awarded Carnegie medals

Post 2012 Medal Style
Carnegie Medal
Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 6/30/2014 12:17 am

NEW YORK (AP) — Donna Tartt's latest literary honor upholds a family tradition.

Tartt is this year's recipient of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for fiction. Her best-selling "The Goldfinch" has already won the Pulitzer Prize.

Historian Doris Kearns Goodwin was the Carnegie Medal nonfiction winner for her book on the progressive era of the early 20th century, "The Bully Pulpit." The awards are managed by the American Library Association.

The medals come with a $5,000 cash prize and were presented Saturday at the association's annual meeting in Las Vegas, where parts of "The Goldfinch" were set. Tartt is the niece and grand-niece of librarians. She worked as a library aide in Mississippi as a teenager.


©2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!

Featured Segments/Shows

All content © Copyright 2015 Intermountain West Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
You may also view our Sitemap

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.